top of page
Search

Welcome to my blog, Sincerely Abby

Updated: Feb 23, 2021

Here I go. New blog. Big new world. Exiting college and catching a job that was a step into my interests was a type of happiness I hadn’t felt before. I had what every post-college grad wanted – something that wasn’t the looks of a cashier at Stop & Shop or Staples. No offense Stop & Shop and Staples. But with virtually everyone telling you the job market sucks before you graduate, and seeing grads struggle to get jobs, it seemed pretty bleak to me at the time. 

College introduced me to the wonderful world of the things they don’t tell you in high school which led me in the direction of social justice. So as a bright, young, educated person, I was ready to change the world. Or do what I could as a single person. I would elect a Democrat into the State Senate and create actual tangible change. Being part of a winning campaign was like no other – even though the god forsaken rona destroyed our potential election night celebration plan.

Anyway, while I was excited to be teaming up with someone I believed in and promoting them on social media, I eventually became mute on my personal social media platforms. As a campaign worker, you virtually have no other life than your job. Working around the clock is an inevitable part of electing a candidate. You must always be recruiting volunteers, cutting turf, pushing ads and exposure, and thinking ahead of your opponent. It was a sanity scraping, deeply challenging and fulfilling experience, being able to facilitate a true grassroots campaign. 

But now, I am excited to promote my own strengths and value in what I bring to the world. My writing dreams are still potent and I am ready to swim in forms of prose like I did in college. This writing class, that writing class and that one too, were the best days of my life. My craft gave me the self-love I never endowed myself during the trying-to-fit-in four years of high school. 

I am ready to join my brilliant writing pals such as Meaghan Davis aka meaghanxemily.wixsite.com/meaghanemilywrites and Teresa Forester Adams at teresaforesteradams.com in bringing another perspective to life. 

You can find me here at sincerelyabby.wordpress.com! Here's to old and new stories and writing pals. 

24 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page